Today’s Forum Thread of the Day comes from Callyboy and draws attention to an incident from last week’s Porsche European Open involving Matt Kuchar which has caused a stir both on our forums and on social media. The episode which you can watch here, saw Kuchar improving his lie in a waste area by judging that the small particles surrounding his ball were all loose impediments. While Kuchar’s act did not violate the rules, our members are split on whether the action was within the spirit of the game or not.

Here are a few posts from the thread, but make sure to check out the entire discussion and have your say at the link below.

  • OldTomMorris: “I’m sure it was a “Waste Area”. Kuchar has become a target off the back of some things (deservedly so), and while this looks weird, I don’t see a problem with it. Don’t look to Twitter for a fair and balanced reaction.”
  • JohnnyCashForever: “It doesn’t really pass the eyeball test, does it? If Kuch wants to get hyper-technical with the rules and remove very small rocks that are the size of individual grains of sand, then what prevents the rules committee from imposing a penalty on him if he “accidentally” removes actual grains of sand in the process and improves his lie?”
  • bladehunter: “Isn’t it just another glaring hole in the rules? He’s easily within the rules to move them. The Twitter twits responses about a DQ are hilarious. Have to remember. This is in a waste area. NOT in a hazard or whatever they changed the name to.”
  • MaxBuck: “I would interpret what Kuchar did as violating Rule 1 and Rule 8.1. Rule 1 states in part, “You should normally play the course as you find it and play your ball as it lies.” Kuchar violated both the spirit and the letter of that rule IMO. I’ve lately gone from being a big Kuchar fan (love his demeanor on the course) to not much of a fan at all.”
  • philly2kuk: “Whether this latest episode is by the rules or not, after his run in with Sergio, the caddie payment issue and the fact he tried to claim his ball had plugged in the fairway at the memorial when it had bounced into somebody else’s pitch mark, he’s making himself an easy target for the press. If he had some sense, he’d be trying his hardest to avoid scrutiny for a while. He missed the cut anyway, why not just leave some of the sand/impediments there and get on with it, so you’re not being targeted again??”

Entire Thread: “Was Kuchar’s act at the Porsche European Open in the spirit of the game?”

NewSimulationShoes News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *