NEW YORK, NY — Gov. Andrew Cuomo extended the statewide stay-at-home order for nonessential workers until May 28 and his ability to make such orders until June 13 as five regions began the first phase of reopening businesses Friday morning.

The regions that have met the state’s criteria to begin reopening businesses include central New York, Finger Lakes, Mohawk Valley, North Country and Southern Tier. Long Island and New York City have satisfied four of the criteria, while the Mid-Hudson Valley met five.

The state has released guidelines for reopening businesses by industry. At his daily briefing on the coronavirus Thursday, Cuomo called the guidelines “quite specific.” They include restrictions and recommendations for construction, agriculture, forestry, fishing, hunting, retail trade, manufacturing and wholesalers.

To sign up for free, local breaking news alerts in New York, click here.

Mandatory restrictions include ensuring 6 feet of social distancing, limiting tightly confined spaces such as elevators to one person, and avoiding in-person gatherings as much as possible. Recommendations for businesses include creating additional space for workers, adjusting hours, staggering arrival and departure times, and even reconfiguring work stations.

Read Cuomo’s executive order extending his authority to issue stay-at-home directives here.

Correction: Gov. Andrew Cuomo said most New York residents must continue staying at home until May 28, unless the region they live in satisfied the state’s metrics for reopening. A previous version of this article erroneously reported the governor’s stay-at-home order was extended to June 13.

NewSimulationShoes News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *